kellers cook: chili

This is our first post in a new series I just invented: Kellers Cook! Keep reading for the recipe we meant to make AND the one Jon accidentally discovered.

Our small group recently decided to try something new: gathering for a meal. We love our small group, and we love meals, and I wanted something quick, easy, and hearty. Chili was a perfect option.

flickr: little blue hen

The truth is that I sometimes have a bit of an identity crisis in the kitchen. I don’t always feel confident, and while I have mastered tacos, fajitas, stir fry, and spaghetti sauce, I second-guess myself frequently.

Thankfully, that’s why my mom is on speed dial. I am completely serious. When in doubt, I always call Mom and she always knows.

Anticipating a chili crisis, I preempted myself and used mama’s recipe. (And it only required 1 phone call!)

The chili was a hit! And, as it turns out, also gluten free! At the request of our small group, here’s Mom’s recipe, the way I made it, which doubles easily:

Gluten-Free Chili

1lb lean ground beef (90/10)

2 yellow onions, chopped

2 – 14.5oz cans diced tomatoes (or stewed tomatoes), undrained

2 – 15oz cans spicy chili beans, undrained

1 – 4oz can mushrooms, drained and chopped

2 tablespoons GF chili powder (no maltodextrin)

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Brown the meat and onions together; drain grease. Add the rest and stir to combine. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer 45 minutes (longer = better).

Top with shredded cheddar, green onions, and sour cream. Makes 6 servings.

I doubled the recipe, and still threw it together in about 15 minutes! (Secret: chop the onions the night before.)

One couple brought gluten-free cornbread, another brought gluten-free shortbread cookies and ice cream. We crowded around the card table in our folding chairs and camping chairs. Also (because we like to keep it real around here), we had a plethora of drink options: tap water, refrigerated water, tap water with ice, refrigerated water with ice, and orange juice. Because, as Dave pointed out, what goes best with chili? ORANGE JUICE. Perfect.

Bonus Recipe: Jon discovered that if you have a leftover serving of chili and you add 1/4 cup sour cream and a 1/2 cup+ shredded pepper jack/cheddar, you get a really tasty chili con queso dip. Eat with Tostitos All-Natural Hint of Jalapeno or Hint of Pepper Jack tortilla chips. The Pepper Jack ones taste like Doritos, but they don’t have any MSG.* These are the only chips we buy, and they never last long.

By the way, future Kellers Cook posts will have pictures of our creations, but I didn’t know I was going to put this on the blog when I made it. Just the borrowed photo for now. Next time we make it, I’ll take photos. Including a photo of our gorgeous dining room table, which is finally here! Fabulous!

*This statement, while still true, is mostly to make my husband (who’s on the road!) smile.

4 thoughts on “kellers cook: chili

  1. AnnMarie says:

    I’m not sure if you all are gluten-free or if your friends are but a good blog for gluten free recipes is Gluten Free Girl & the Chef. http://glutenfreegirl.com/

    I think part of being a good cook is collecting one good recipe at a time. Before you know it, people will be asking you for your amazing recipes. =) My husband and I have been married for 8 1/2 years now and finally feel like we’re coming into our own when it comes to cooking. So, it took us a while but in the mean time, we miraculously did not starve.

  2. Audrey says:

    I agree with Ann Marie’s comment. It takes awhile to “come into your own” with cooking, especially as a couple. Keep experimenting…in the kitchen… and soon your confidence will be at the point that you’ll feel comfortable to add a little of this and a little of that. And now that you have that large dining room table, keep it surrounded with family and friends to help you enjoy God’s blessings!

  3. Amanda says:

    Yum! My chili alternative has become goulash, since the hubs doesn’t like chili beans. šŸ™‚ I agree that it takes a couple of years to come into your own in the kitchen. But the more you cook, the easier and more fun it becomes! šŸ™‚ (Oh, also? Chili freezes well if you ever have leftovers!)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Here’s the great thing–you come in to your own and then you just keep evolving. I was feeling totally confident then the boys came and I kind of fumbled with picky eaters and still giving them healthy food. Now that that’s under control we are moving towards a more whole food, grass-fed, organic diet without giving up some of our staple recipes we love. So I’m learning to make homemade pillsbury crescent rolls, cream of fill-in-the-blank soup and all sorts of fun stuff. It’s ever changing!

    The chili sounds delish and yummy as a dip too! Enjoy your new table and those who are around it!

Leave a Reply

