shout heard round the world

If you were listening closely at about 8:30 CST this morning, you should have heard the sound of Jon being a very proud daddy.

We’re having a boy!

We are absolutely thrilled and I stand by my original contention: I wasn’t wrong…I hoped it would be a boy! Those of you who voted boy, congratulations! Jon admitted to voting 5 different times, so that poll was a bit misleading.

He looks absolutely beautiful. Growing right on schedule for 20 weeks, he’s already 12oz. We saw so many views of his little body: arms, legs, fingers, toes, spine, a four-chambered heart, diaphragm, kidneys, brain, and even his nose and lips! I could feel him moving all during the ultrasound, and have been feeling him more and more since last week.

After searching for a while, the ultrasound tech got a great between-the-legs shot (which I’d noticed earlier, but didn’t say anything for fear of being oh-so-wrong). She said, “Any guesses?” and I stayed silent. Jon finally ventured cautiously, “Is it a girl?” When she typed “BOY” on the monitor, Jon said, “It’s a boy?!?! How can you tell?” She pointed out a particular piece of anatomy – a 99% certain giveaway.

We plan to name him Jonathan McCrary Keller, Jr. We can’t wait to welcome our baby Jack in November.

Here’s a pic of the 20-week baby bump…taken while shopping for maternity clothes!

8 thoughts on “shout heard round the world

  1. rebecca martinson says:

    Ok sk I couldn’t help but laugh when k read that Jon said “its a boy his can you tell.” Maggie – maybe you need to explain anatomy to Jon.? Hehehe. Congrats you 2 so very excited for you both!

  2. To be completely fair, I was confused at first too…I couldn’t remember what to look for if it’s a girl vs. what to expect to see if it’s a boy.

  3. Skeller says:

    THERE ARE TOO MANY JON’S IN THIS FAMILY WHAT ARE YOU DOING.

  4. I must confess that I feeling a bit proud, because Carolyn and I were the first one’s to name a little boy “Jonathan McCrary Keller” so to have a second one is affirming and joyous. The best news is that you and baby are healthy and progressing well.

  5. Reblogged this on Trust Live Serve and commented:
    Yes, I am going to be a grandfather in November and today my son and daughter-in-law discovered it will be a boy. They plan to name him, “Jonathan McCrary Keller” Junior. My wife and I felt some affirmation in naming the first “Jonathan McCrary Keller.” God is good and I am so grateful for all of God’s blessings.

  6. Claire Sweem says:

    Congrats Jon & Maggie! Glad your pregnancy is going well and great name, too!

  7. I have had an eye out for darling baby things…now that we know it’s a boy I will be able to narrow my focus! Congrats to all!

  8. Amanda says:

    Yay for healthy baby Jack!! 🙂 You guys will have so much fun with him. So excited for my boys to have a new friend soon, too! Also, I have lots of boy clothes and other blue things for you to borrow – woo hoo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

