Kellers Cook: Black Bean & Corn Salsa

Go figure: I’ve been craving spicy, salty, acidic food recently (in spite of the beastly heartburn it gives me). There’s a particular salad/dip I recalled from my growing-up years, served with corn chips at various Superbowl and summer pool parties. It’s the perfect combination of sweet (corn), spicy (chiles & cumin), salty (chips), and sour (vinaigrette). Needless to say, I’ve been thinking about this recipe for the past week!

After scouring Pinterest, Supercook, and AllRecipes, with no exact match (this is not the one with avocado), I gave up my search and called Mom. She relayed the recipe to me over the phone, and I was able to walk into my kitchen and whip it up – all ingredients already on hand! Without further ado, the only record of this recipe anywhere online (you’re welcome, Internet):

Black Bean & Corn Salsa

Substitute: 10oz can diced tomatoes (drained)

Mix together:

15oz can black beans, drained/rinsed

1 4oz can chopped jalapeños, drained

1 cup frozen sweet corn, thawed

4 stalks green onion, chopped

3 Roma tomatoes, diced

Whisk separately and add to above:

1/4c olive or vegetable oil

1/8c apple cider or red wine vinegar

Seasonings to taste: salt, pepper, cumin or taco seasoning, garlic powder

I mixed it all together and stored in a Tupperware dish. Of course, I taste-tested with tortilla chips immediately…it was delicious, but letting it marinate overnight will bring out even more of the flavors. Postscript: We finished it off for lunch the very next day.

yeah cell-phone quality food pics

2 thoughts on “Kellers Cook: Black Bean & Corn Salsa

  1. Amanda says:

    Mmm… looks delicious! Your mom is a fantastic cook – actually, I think she made this once when I was over for dinner? I’m excited to try it! (Sorry about the heartburn though… not fun.)

  2. Sue says:

    Sweet Maggie, you make me smile 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

