My First Pinterest Fail

Last night, I spent some too much time pinning interesting links on Pinterest before heading to bed.

My final pin was an intriguing (read: almost too simple) recipe for DIY whitening toothpaste. In fact, I never even clicked through to the original blog post because the recipe was replicated in the pin’s caption (which is actually one of the main complaints about Pinterest–doesn’t give proper credit to the original source).

The recipe is thus: 1tsp baking soda, 1tsp hydrogen peroxide, 1/2 tsp water, little bit of toothpaste. Easy enough. Except when I mixed those ratios together, it was all watery–not even close to the paste I saw captured in the pin’s image. So I added more baking soda. A lot more. And then it was too much, so I evened it out with more peroxide until I’d achieved something that could be called a paste, though it still didn’t look exactly like the picture.

I brushed my teeth with the paste (baking soda tastes gross, fyi), put a lid on the tiny tupperware container and went to bed.

In the middle of the night, I was awakened by a loud pop coming from elsewhere in the apartment. (Did I mention Jon was out of town?) Discovered that the peroxide/soda gases had expanded and apparently blew the lid off. The mixture did, however, look exactly like the paste I’d seen in the picture…I guess it just needed time to set.

This morning, I updated the pin’s caption to include the additional instructions: trust the original ratios, leave it uncovered overnight. Lesson learned. I suppose it could have been worse: see Pinterest Fail for more epic failures due to pins.

3 thoughts on “My First Pinterest Fail

  1. This is too funny. I’m afraid I might have called 911 when I heard the explosion. I hope it didn’t make too big of mess. Although you probably have really white walls now.

  2. Cece says:

    If you had clicked through the original blog post, you would also have seen that she doesn’t say to put the peroxide in the mixture, but to use it as a mouth-wash, diluted 50% with water or regular mouthwash, before brushing with the baking soda/toothpaste mixture. So that could be another pinterest failure to think about – potential dangers in not reading the original post.

Leave a Reply

