on not being domestic

I’m really not domestic.

You probably guessed as much by the fact that I feel the need to document every culinary success (see: Kellers Cook series). If you haven’t been over to our apartment, you may not even know that the walls are bare, save the Bolivar poster that got scotch-taped up some months ago and never moved. There’s also that little matter of the baby nursery, which still looks exactly like our guest bedroom.

It should come as no surprise, then, that a well-timed, nutritious, tasty dinner is a big accomplishment for me. (You families who do this 6 nights a week amaze me.) Sunday night I planned the week’s meals, wrote a shopping list, AND remembered to start defrosting chicken for Monday’s dinner. It was such a promising start to what was sure to be a week full of successful domestic feats.

Here’s a little snapshot of how last night went down. Laugh with me, please:

4:30pm: Get ambitious, plan to add apple crisp to dinner menu
4:35: Call mom for apple crisp recipe
4:50: Sneak out of work early, complete fastest grocery trip in human history
6:00: Groceries unpacked, preheat oven, slice apples
6:10: Jon home, cleans bathroom
6:20: Barbecue chicken goes into the oven, still slicing apples
6:30: Track down recipe for rice pilaf, think to self, “Add cheese & broccoli to make it better.”
6:31: Completely forget about broccoli
6:40: Start pilaf 10 mins too late, hope kitchen miracles will happen and rice will cook in 10 mins
6:45: Chicken done, apples all sliced, rice burning
6:50: Jon to the rescue, stirs rice while I add cheese, asks “Where’s the broccoli?”
6:52: Sit down to dinner of cheesy rice pilaf sans-broccoli and oh, look, the chicken’s still pink.
6:54: Chicken back in the oven, sit down to dinner of only cheesy rice pilaf sans-broccoli
7:03: Chicken done for real
7:04: Doula Kathryn arrives for our prenatal meeting. (I’m sweaty & wrist-deep in apple crisp topping)
7:07: Apple crisp in the oven, talk with Kathryn about Jack’s birth, get really excited to meet him
7:40: Apple crisp finished. It tastes good! Victory!

At one point, Jon reminded me gently that he loves me more every second like Gmail’s ever-increasing storage megabytes counter, so technically, he loved me more after discovering the chicken was undercooked than he did when he thought it was baked enough. I’m sure your husband is great, but in that moment, mine earned husband of the year.

I may not be naturally inclined toward being domestic, but I’m getting there. One day, I’ll produce a perfectly-timed dinner (including dessert). And when I do, trust me: you’ll hear about it.

Apple Crisp Recipe (from Mom)

4 c. or 6 medium apples, sliced (I used Jonamac and Granny Smith, skins on)

1/3 c. butter, softened

1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. oats

2/3c. brown sugar, packed

3/4 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg (Modification: 3/8 tsp. cinnamon, 3/8 tsp. pumpkin pie spice)

Fill a 9×9 pan with apples, mix the rest until crumbly, sprinkle on top. Bake 30 mins. at 375F.

3 thoughts on “on not being domestic

  1. Amanda says:

    I love you. Don’t worry, the domesticity grows with time. I had so many dinner flops when we were first married… oh so much dry chicken! And I still haven’t learned the timing thing that well. You are lovely. 🙂

  2. Love this post. It reminds me when I was newly married and I couldn’t figure out how to time the entree in the oven with the vegetables cooking on the stove top. The more you cook, the easier it gets. And having kids sort of speeds things up so you’re well on your way sweetie!

  3. Kathryn says:

    LOL! I had no idea!

Leave a Reply

