how mama found her voice

imageThree times in the last three days I have heard or read or said myself the words, “Motherhood is not for the faint of heart. ” And three times in three days is more than a coincidence. Three times in three days means that I’m starting to believe those words are meant for me. They’re starting to go down deep into my heart and take root.
And if I believe them, if I believe that motherhood is not for the faint of heart, that makes me the opposite. That makes me STRONG of heart.
When I feel empty, when I feel so needed with so little to offer, quite literally filled to be drained every 3 hours, I will cling to these words. I will imagine they are being sung over me. I will hold fast to this simple cliche.
Because those words, they have found soft soil in my heart and they are throwing roots down deep to grow up tall. And that’s my favorite thing words can do.
I am typing this one-handed in the dark in the middle of the night because my son, my precious little boy–his breathing is heavy and his right ear is pressed over my heart. I wonder if he can hear what’s happening inside. Can he hear my heart growing stronger, encouraged by 8 little words?
If he can’t, at least he’ll wake to find a mama ready to take on the world.
3 thoughts on “how mama found her voice

  1. Amanda says:

    Praying for you as you start a whole new adventure this week!! These words are good & true… Speaking truth to yourself helps so much in these hard, exhausting days. Love you!

  2. Love you, working mom!

  3. Aw. Love this. Love motherhood.

Leave a Reply

